At FIREFISH Gallery our goal is to make art accessible and approachable. We aim to be the bridge for the emerging artist in a professional environment. When you visit FIREFISH you will find a supportive, creative space that fosters artistic growth  What sets us apart is that we are a working/teaching gallery. With four resident artists, whom you may find in their studios, FIREFISH supports local artisans and displays a wide assortment of handmade merchandise.  Our philosophy is that we aim to help artists and the community to cultivate art and push it to a new level.

At FIREFISH, we are focusing on making art accessible, approachable and affordable.  We carry only handmade items from local artisans, sculptors, painters, potters, jewelrymakers and crafters.  The gallery also contains five artist studios with real live artists working in them!  These artists also offer a wide array of classes in this exciting and contemporary gallery.  We aim to support and exhibit the new and emerging artist and help them nurture their careers.

 FOR PURCHASE OF ART PLEASE EMAIL: firefishgallery@gmail.com

OR CALL: (434) 984-1777.

My name is Sigrid Eilertson.  I’m a mom, artist, art therapist and owner of FIREFISH gallery on the historic Downtown Mall of Charlottesville, VA. I have traveled, loved and lived.  I incorporate all my experiences into my art.  I admire artists who do the same.  I primarily work in collage, mixed media and oil- making worlds within themselves.  I am inspired by nature and animals in addition to cross cultural spiritual influences.  I also fancy the world of masks.  This ancient tradition of mask making is the bridge between art, music, dance,- the humans and the gods.  I like to do this.  The results are weird.  I like weird...

sigrid